Half Spent Was The Night || A Must Have Companion

 

Title: Half Spent Was The Night
Author: Ami McKay
Page Count: 112 pages
Genre: Fiction
Rating: ★ ★ ★ ★
Publisher: Knopf Canada, an imprint of Penguin Random House
Release Date: October 16, 2018
Buy It: Chapters Indigo

 

 

 

 

 

SYNOPSIS

During the nights between Christmas and New Year’s, the witches of New York–Adelaide Thom, Eleanor St. Clair and the youngest, Beatrice Dunn–gather before the fire to tell ghost stories and perform traditional Yuletide divinations. (Did you know that roasting chestnuts were once used to foretell one’s fate?)

As the witches roast chestnuts and melt lead to see their fate, a series of odd messengers land on their doorstep bearing invitations for a New Year’s Eve masquerade hosted by a woman they’ve never met. Gossip, dreams and portents follow, leading the witches to question the woman’s motives. Is she as benevolent as she seems or is she laying a trap. And so, as Gilded-Age New York prepares to ring in the new year, the witches don their finery and heard for the ball, on the hunt for answers that might well be the end of them.

 

 

MY THOUGHTS

Have you read anything by Ami McKay? Her books are magicial even when they don’t involve actual magic. But when it does with her witches you can’t help but want to hang out with the Witches of New York!
This little companion booklet is perfect for fans of The Witches of New York. It comes with a story, reciepes and beautiful artwork. If you haven’t read The Witches of New York this is a perfect intro for you! I highly recommend grabbing this wonderful short story if you’re a fan or a soon to be fan. You’ll be transported to the past and you’ll never want to come back.
**Thank you Penguin Canada for sending me a copy in exchange for an honest review.**

Leave a Reply