Boneless Mercies || Feminine And Badass

There was beauty even in this bleak forest of spikes.

 

Title: Boneless Mercies
Author: April Genevieve Tucholke
Page Count: 384 pages
Genre: Fantasy // Young Adult
Rating: ★  ★  ★  ★  ★ 
Publisher: Farrar, Straus & Giroux , an imprint of Macmillian
Release Date: October 2, 2018
Buy It: Chapters Indigo

 

 

 

 

 

SYNOPSIS

A dark and gorgeously drawn standalone YA fantasy about a band of mercenary girls in search of female glory. Won in a major six-house auction!

Frey, Ovie, Juniper, and Runa are the Boneless Mercies—girls hired to kill quickly, quietly, and mercifully. But Frey is weary of the death trade and, having been raised on the heroic sagas of her people, dreams of a bigger life.

When she hears of an unstoppable monster ravaging a nearby town, Frey decides this is the Mercies’ one chance out. The fame and fortune of bringing down such a beast would ensure a new future for all the Mercies. In fact, her actions may change the story arc of women everywhere.

Full of fierce girls, bloodlust, tenuous alliances, and unapologetic quests for glory, this elegantly spun tale challenges the power of storytelling—and who gets to be the storyteller. Perfect for fans of Maggie Stiefvater, V.E. Schwab, and Heidi Heilig.

 

 

 

MY THOUGHTS

Are you a fan of fantasy books where the main characters go on a quest? Are you a fan of bloody scenes and action? Are you a fan of kick ass women?

If you said yes to any of the above then Boneless Mercies is for you! I was flipping these pages so fast it didn’t even feel like I was reading. It flowed so well before I knew it, it was over. I loved the concept – a gender bent re-telling of Beowulf! Such a great idea and it was executed wonderfully. The main character was so strong and I loved her choices. The side characters had so much depth and their background stories were so interesting. Really excited to read more by Tolchke!

I have one thing to mention that sort of made me feel unbalanced while reading and that was the transitions between scenes and the travel time in the book. Things seemed to happen too fast but maybe it was the pace of the book? Not sure but something felt off kilter which is why I had to take off that .5 star.

Such a great read! This is in my favourites for 2018.

**Thank you Macmillian for sending me an ARC in exchange for an honest review.**

3 Replies to “Boneless Mercies || Feminine And Badass”

  1. Ooooh definitely going to read this soon 😁

    1. Yes! Enjoy!! I flew through it!

  2. Woaaaa 5 stars? I really want to read this now! GAH! Should I try requesting it one more time? LMAO

Leave a Reply